< [Prev] [Contents] [Next] >

9.4.3 Modern statutes (post-1998)

The United Kingdom now has two parliaments and two assemblies, each with different geographical jurisdiction: the Parliament of the United Kingdom; the Scottish Parliament; the National Assembly for Wales; and the Northern Ireland Assembly.

(a) United Kingdom

When citing legislation of the Parliament of the United Kingdom, cite the statute in the same manner as for New Zealand legislation using the jurisdiction identifier “UK” in round brackets after the year of enactment.

Eg Freedom of Information Act 2000 (UK).

(b) National parliaments

When citing legislation of the Scottish Parliament, the National Assembly for Wales and the Northern Ireland Assembly, cite the legislation in the same manner as New Zealand legislation.

It is not necessary to use a jurisdiction identifier, as this is included in the statute title. Note that Northern Ireland generally indicates the jurisdiction before the year whereas Scotland and Wales generally indicate the jurisdiction before the word “Act” or “Regulations”.

Eg Judiciary and Courts (Scotland) Act 2008.

Eg Financial Assistance Act (Northern Ireland) 2009.

Eg Beef Labelling (Enforcement) (Wales) Regulations 2001.

< [Prev] [Contents] [Next] >