Cleary Memorial Prize

The Cleary Memorial Prize was instituted in memory of Sir Timothy Cleary, past President of both the Wellington District and New Zealand Law Societies and a Judge of the Court of Appeal until his death in 1962.

This award recognises and commemorates the fine example Sir Timothy’s own life has set for young people entering the profession.

In 2008, the Law Foundation took over administration of the award from the New Zealand Law Society who had administered it since 1964. The original intent of the prize was retained and the value increased to $5,000.

Applications are open to any barrister and/or solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand.  Applicants are eligible for consideration for the prize if they apply within a three year period from the date of their admission to the bar.  A person meets the three year eligibility period if the third anniversary of their admission to the roll of barristers and solicitors falls within the calendar year in respect of which the award is to be made.

If any applicant considers there are exceptional circumstances affecting the timing of their application, they may request special consideration for a dispensation from the qualifying period for eligibility when they apply.  Any application for special consideration to apply outside the 3 year eligibility criteria is considered on a broad discretionary basis by the New Zealand Law Foundation Trustees.  Whilst all circumstances provided in support of special consideration are taken into account, there are no specific criteria that require consideration or satisfy eligibility outside three years.  The New Zealand Law Foundation Trustees’ decision on any such special application is final.

Example: A practitioner who was admitted in June 2013 would be eligible to apply for and be awarded, an award in 2016 even if the award were only decided upon in September 2016; however, the practitioner would not be eligible for the 2017 award.

Value $5,000 annually.

Applications close 5pm 30th September each year.

Please read the terms of reference then follow the application guidelines for the Cleary Memorial Prize.  Applications are made online and the guidelines will step you through this process.

Application Guidelines for the Cleary Memorial Prize
Terms of Reference

Applications are made online.  Apply Here.

Note:  Our system does not work well with Internet Explorer, so we recommend you use Chrome, Firefox, Safari or similar browsers.

If you do not receive an email from the Foundation accepting your application then please contact us to check it has been received. Phone Lynda Hagen on 04-499 1038 or email if you have any queries or concerns with your application.
Previous Recipients
Full List of Cleary Memorial Prize winners


Cleary Memorial Prize Recipients

2015 : Alexandra Sinclair

About the recipient
Photo of Alexandra Sinclair 2015 Cleary Memorial Prize joint winner

2015 : Ashiq Hamid

About the recipient
Photo of Ashiq Hamid 2015 Cleary Memorial Prize joint winner

2014 : Seamus Woods

About the recipient
Photo of Seamus Woods 2014 Cleary Memorial Prize winner

2013 : Sam McMullan

About the recipient
Photo of Sam McMullan Cleary Memorial Prize joint winner

2012 : Rebecca Rose

About the recipient
Photo of Rebecca Rose 2012 Cleary Memorial Prize joint winner

2012 : Catherine Harwood

About the recipient
Photo of Catherine Harwood 2012 Cleary Memorial Prize joint winner

2011 : David Turner

About the recipient
Photo of David Turner 2011 Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2010 : Matthew Reuben Windsor

About the recipient
Photo of Matthew Windsor 2010 Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2010 : Rebecca Elvin

About the recipient
Photo of Rebecca Elvin 2010 Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2009 : Colin Francis Fife

About the recipient
Photo of Colin Fife 2009 Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2009 : Jeremy Wiremu Alexander Johnson

About the recipient
Photo of Jeremy Johnson Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2008 : Jason N.E. Varuhas

About the recipient
Photo of Jason Varuhas 2008 Cleary Memorial Prize Winner

2007 : Nicholas Whittington

2006 : Malcolm Birdling

2005 : Jonathan Kilby Scragg

2004 : Alyssa Rochelle Phillips

2003 : Sacha Liesyl Wallach Green

2002 : Anna-Marie Elisabeth Kirk

2001 : Rachel Mary Carnachan

2000 : Joanna Claire Mossop

1999 : Hanna Wilberg

1998 : Anna Rawlings and Nicole Moreham

1997 : John Peterson

1996 : Simon Mount

1995 : Timothy Cameron

1994 : Jane Anderson and Campbell Walker

1993 : Marc Corlett

1992 : Joanne Maree Appleyard

1991 : Adam Stephen Ross

1990 : Paul Anthony Key

1989 : Sean Patrick Baldwin

1983 to 1988 : No awards were made

1982 : Miriam Rose Dean

1981 : Graham Laurie Lang

1980 : Michael Bruce Taggart

1979 : Michael Philip Crew

1978 : David William Mayhew

1976 : Evan Christopher Williams

1974 : John Francis Timmins

1973 : Andrew Hawksworth Brown

1972 : William Akel

1971 : Gerald Francis Kember

1970 : Austin John Forbes

1969 : John Richard Wild

1968 : John Prebble

1967 : Alan Raymond Galbraith

1966 : Donald Malcolm McRae

1965 : Andrew Patrick Charles Tipping

1964 : William David Baragwanath


Forgotten your password ? Click right here.
Not registered ? Click here to create your account


Firstname: *
Surname: *
Postal Address: *
City: *
Telephone: *
Ext. No.:
Cell phone:
Email: *
Password: *
Confirm: *
Anti-hack: 7 + 6 = *
Already registered ? Click here to login