News Item

August 2018

Conference to mark the retirement of the Chief Justice - save the date

The retirement of the Chief Justice in 2019 will be marked with a conference in Auckland. Save the date for 31 Jan, 1 Feb 2019 when distinguished international and NZ speakers will explore tradition and direction in the law. The conference will be organised by the LRF with support from the Law Foundation.

Chief Justice Dame Sian Elias


Speakers include:
• Justice Rosalie Abella, Judge of the Supreme Court of Canada
• Professor Stuart Banner, Norman Abrams Professor of Law, UCLA
• Professor Richard Boast QC, Faculty of Law, Victoria University of Wellington
• Justice Manuel José Cepeda, President of the International Association of Constitutional Law and former President of the Constitutional Court of Colombia
• Hon Sir Kenneth Keith, retired Judge of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand
• Hon Susan Kiefel AC, Chief Justice of the High Court of Australia
• Sir Anthony Mason AC KBE, former Chief Justice High Court of Australia
• Professor Janet McLean, Faculty of Law, University of Auckland
• Justice Kate O’Regan, Director of the Bonavero Institute of Human Rights, Faculty of Law, Oxford University and formerly of the Constitutional Court of South Africa
• Professor Paul Rishworth QC, Crown Law
• Laureate Professor Emeritus Cheryl Saunders, Melbourne Law School, University of Melbourne
• Professor Jeremy Waldron, School of Law, New York University
• Professor Christina Voight, University of Oslo
• Professor Peter Watts QC, Barrister, Bankside Chambers

The conference will be chaired by Dr Andrew Butler, Chair of the New Zealand Law Foundation.

This is the principal opportunity for the New Zealand legal profession to acknowledge the Chief Justice upon her retirement. The conference will be held at the Fisher and Paykel Auditorium, University of Auckland, and will close with a dinner on Friday 1 February 2019 at the Auckland museum.
Further details about the conference programme will be circulated shortly. To pre-register please go to LRF or email